I applaud The Rockfeller Foundation, EdelGive Foundation & the Resource Alliance for conducting The India NGO Awards and encouraging NGOs. It is a great privilege to celebrate excellence which aims not only at best practice in the sector but also highlights critical issues. Awards like these act as a catalyst towards a better India. I also take this opportunity to convey my best wishes to the team since this is a tremendous opportunity to fill in the gaps in a constructive manner.

Smt. Preneet Kaur, Honourable Minister of State for External Affairs
You are here: Home > The India NGO Awards >


About the Awards

The India NGO Awards are a joint venture between Resource Alliance, Rockefeller Foundation and EdelGive Foundation. The Awards aim to advance the country’s non-profit sector by promoting financial and organisational sustainability and strengthening community support of civil society.

The idea is to set good standards and promote resource mobilisation, accountability and transparency. The Awards are meant to create examples and inspire the non- profit organisations while also facilitating cross- regional learning.


India NGO Awards 2014-15

Eligibility Criteria

Organisations applying for the India NGO Awards must fulfil the following eligibility criteria:

  • All organisations registered in India as Trusts, Societies and Section 25 companies that have been working for a minimum of three years on social and environmental transformation are eligible to apply

  • Organisations that propagate political or religious doctrines are excluded from participation

  • NGOs from all over India are invited to enter the competition

  • National Award Winners from previous two years are not eligible to apply. However, finalists from previous years can apply

Organisations are evaluated on parameters such as effective resource mobilisation and sustainable management, good governance practices, transparency and accountability and the tangible impact their work has brought about within the respective target communities.


NGOs can apply under one of the following three categories, based on their annual budget for the year:


Annual Budget


Under INR 1 Crore


Between INR 1 and 5 Crore


Over INR 5 Crore



  • The three national winners will receive a trophy and cash prizes which can be used to strengthen their internal systems and processes
  • The Rising Star Award winner, chosen from the small and medium category applicants, will receive a trophy and cash prize for strengthening their internal systems and processes
  • Participation in workshops on resource mobilization, communication, governance and financial management will be organized across the country
  • All finalists will be profiled in a casebook, which is disseminated at the Awards ceremony and through the Resource Alliance website
  • Under the ‘Big idea, small budget’ category launched for the small and medium category NGOs, new and innovative ideas employed by the respective organisation will be recognised
Make a Donation
Our Partners
Our Reports